•December 21, 2009 • 2 Comments

Here is their hit song “No One Knows” featuring Dave Grohl behind the pipes.  Grohl and Homme are currently ripping up Europe with their side project Them Crooked Vultures, featuring John Paul Jones, bassist for the legendary Led Zeppelin.


You Think I’m Worth a Dollar, But I feel Like a Millionaire

•December 21, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Top Ten of the Decade: 8

•December 21, 2009 • Leave a Comment


In 2002, the world was still recovering from teen pop stars and boy band mania, an era that almost wiped out rock music off the map.  Eight years after the death of Kurt Cobain, alternative music was still reeling, and sure there had been a bright spot here and there, but not even BritPop could save it.  And then after there critically acclaimed album Rated R, Queens of the Stone Age, fronted by Josh Homme, released Songs for the Deaf, a landmark album for the band and easily their best.  Songs for the Deaf encompasses all that rock music was missing; heavy drums (courtesy of Mr. David Grohl), whole-step down tuning, catchy riffs, and artistry.  The album is not a concept album but is loosely considered as a concept album, taking the listener on a drive from Mojave Desert to Los Angeles the while tuning into radio stations from towns on the way such as Banning and Chino Hills, California. 

All tracks by Joshua Homme and Nick Oliveri, except where noted.

# Title Writer(s) Length
1. “You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire” Homme, Mario Lalli 3:12
2. “No One Knows” Homme, Mark Lanegan 4:38
3. “First It Giveth” 3:18
4. “A Song for the Dead” Homme, Lanegan 5:52
5. “The Sky Is Fallin'” 6:15
6. “Six Shooter” 1:19
7. “Hangin’ Tree” Homme, Alain Johannes 3:06
8. “Go With the Flow” 3:09
9. “Gonna Leave You” 2:50
10. “Do It Again” 4:04
11. “God Is in the Radio” 6:04
12. “Another Love Song” 3:16
13. “A Song for the Deaf”  Homme, Oliveri, Lanegan 6:42
14. “Mosquito Song”  5:37

Top 10 of the Decade

•December 2, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Sorry I got sidetracked by Thanksgiving.  Hope all is well out there.  I’ll be back with more soon.

Updates on “Slash and Friends”

•December 2, 2009 • Leave a Comment
New Update

Hey, what’s happening? I had planned on posting this sooner, but the holiday came & I got sidetracked. Anyway, I hope everybody had a great Thanksgiving regardless. The fundraiser at the Avalon was a complete success, the concert raised 170k for LA Youth Network & made it possible for them to keep open their doors. If you were there thank you so much for your support.  The gig itself was awesome, all the guests that appeared brought their A game, made a tremendous effort & really made it a special event. There were some fantastic moments up there that night for sure. I want to thank Ozzy, Perry Farrell, Billy Idol, Chester Bennington, Andrew Stockdale, Travis Barker, Dave Navarro, Steve Adler, Duff McKagan, Franky Perez, Chris Chaney & George Lopez for their selfless contributions. I want to thank the amazing crew who made the whole thing come off without a hitch & did it for little to nothing. And, everybody who donated generously to the cause. I also want to thank KLOS, The Huffington Post, the LA Times, the LA Weekly & Fox Sports News for their time & effort in helping to advertise & help make this a sellout Rock & Roll show, the likes of which could never be duplicated.

My solo record is about to go into mastering, it sounds really good already, but that’s the final step in the recording process & then it is finished. There is a lot of really cool plans being made for the release of this album, its going to be a blast.

I have a new “Slash Model” Les Paul in the works, I just saw & played the 1st prototype, its killer. There is also a Marshall 100w amp being developed that I’m helping design that shouldn’t be too far off as well. More news on both those items as it develops.

I’m also playing a few songs at the KLOS Christmas Party Dec 16th at the Nokia Theater along with Steve Lukather, Jason Bonham & a host of others which promises to be a good time I’m sure.

That’s about it, talk to you soon. Iiii|; ),

More RCHP…

•November 24, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Here is the music video for RHCP’s “Snow (Hey Oh)” off their album Stadium Arcadium.  This video was shot right here in my home state of New Jersey at Continental Airlines Arena (currently the I-Zod Center).  Enjoy.

Top Ten Albums of the Decade: 9

•November 24, 2009 • Leave a Comment


Released on May 5th, 2006, Stadium Arcadium was the ninth studio installment from our good friends from sunny southern California.  It is amazing after all these years (1982 – present), the Chili Peppers are still rocking.  They have fought drug addiction, mainly lead singer Anthony Kiedis and guitarist John Frusciante, as well as many other adversities over the years.  Since their inception, RCHP have gone through several line up changes with only Kiedis and bassist Flea (Michael Balzary) as the two constant members.  However since 1992, their lineup has mainly consisted of Kiedis, Flea, Frusciante, and drummer Chad Smith who is currently rocking out with his side project Chickenfoot.

Anyways, what makes Stadium Arcadium an incredible album is that it really is an anthology that catalogs all of the sounds the Chili Peppers have amassed over the years.  Starting out with “Dani California,” you will hear riffs made popular by Tom Petty and sounds from their Californication days.  RCHP get funky on the track “Hump de Bump,” likened a lot to their early days from such albums as Funky Monks and Blood Sugar Sex Magik.  And finally, much like their 2002 album, By the Way, RCHP tone it down to the curiously lovely “Tell Me Baby.”  Overall the Chili Peppers make an incredible double-album’s worth of music that digs down just as it deep in the early days.  RCHP might be getting older, but their music is timeless.

Track listing

# Title Length
1. “Dani California” 4:42
2. “Snow (Hey Oh)” 5:34
3. “Charlie” 4:37
4. “Stadium Arcadium” 5:15
5. “Hump de Bump” 3:33
6. “She’s Only 18” 3:25
7. “Slow Cheetah 5:19
8. “Torture Me” 3:44
9. “Strip My Mind” 4:19
10. “Especially in Michigan” 4:00
11. “Warlocks” 3:25
12. “C’mon Girl” 3:48
13. “Wet Sand” 5:09
14. “Hey” 5:39
# Title Length
1. “Desecration Smile” 5:02
2. “Tell Me Baby 4:07
3. “Hard to Concentrate” 4:02
4. “21st Century” 4:22
5. “She Looks to Me” 4:06
6. “Readymade” 4:30
7. “If” 2:52
8. “Make You Feel Better” 3:52
9. “Animal Bar” 5:26
10. “So Much I” 3:44
11. “Storm in a Teacup” 3:45
12. “We Believe” 3:36
13. “Turn It Again” 6:06
14. “Death of a Martian” 4:24