Top Ten Albums of the Decade: 9


Released on May 5th, 2006, Stadium Arcadium was the ninth studio installment from our good friends from sunny southern California.  It is amazing after all these years (1982 – present), the Chili Peppers are still rocking.  They have fought drug addiction, mainly lead singer Anthony Kiedis and guitarist John Frusciante, as well as many other adversities over the years.  Since their inception, RCHP have gone through several line up changes with only Kiedis and bassist Flea (Michael Balzary) as the two constant members.  However since 1992, their lineup has mainly consisted of Kiedis, Flea, Frusciante, and drummer Chad Smith who is currently rocking out with his side project Chickenfoot.

Anyways, what makes Stadium Arcadium an incredible album is that it really is an anthology that catalogs all of the sounds the Chili Peppers have amassed over the years.  Starting out with “Dani California,” you will hear riffs made popular by Tom Petty and sounds from their Californication days.  RCHP get funky on the track “Hump de Bump,” likened a lot to their early days from such albums as Funky Monks and Blood Sugar Sex Magik.  And finally, much like their 2002 album, By the Way, RCHP tone it down to the curiously lovely “Tell Me Baby.”  Overall the Chili Peppers make an incredible double-album’s worth of music that digs down just as it deep in the early days.  RCHP might be getting older, but their music is timeless.

Track listing

# Title Length
1. “Dani California” 4:42
2. “Snow (Hey Oh)” 5:34
3. “Charlie” 4:37
4. “Stadium Arcadium” 5:15
5. “Hump de Bump” 3:33
6. “She’s Only 18” 3:25
7. “Slow Cheetah 5:19
8. “Torture Me” 3:44
9. “Strip My Mind” 4:19
10. “Especially in Michigan” 4:00
11. “Warlocks” 3:25
12. “C’mon Girl” 3:48
13. “Wet Sand” 5:09
14. “Hey” 5:39
# Title Length
1. “Desecration Smile” 5:02
2. “Tell Me Baby 4:07
3. “Hard to Concentrate” 4:02
4. “21st Century” 4:22
5. “She Looks to Me” 4:06
6. “Readymade” 4:30
7. “If” 2:52
8. “Make You Feel Better” 3:52
9. “Animal Bar” 5:26
10. “So Much I” 3:44
11. “Storm in a Teacup” 3:45
12. “We Believe” 3:36
13. “Turn It Again” 6:06
14. “Death of a Martian” 4:24

~ by jmstone87 on November 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: