Top Ten of the Decade: 8


In 2002, the world was still recovering from teen pop stars and boy band mania, an era that almost wiped out rock music off the map.  Eight years after the death of Kurt Cobain, alternative music was still reeling, and sure there had been a bright spot here and there, but not even BritPop could save it.  And then after there critically acclaimed album Rated R, Queens of the Stone Age, fronted by Josh Homme, released Songs for the Deaf, a landmark album for the band and easily their best.  Songs for the Deaf encompasses all that rock music was missing; heavy drums (courtesy of Mr. David Grohl), whole-step down tuning, catchy riffs, and artistry.  The album is not a concept album but is loosely considered as a concept album, taking the listener on a drive from Mojave Desert to Los Angeles the while tuning into radio stations from towns on the way such as Banning and Chino Hills, California. 

All tracks by Joshua Homme and Nick Oliveri, except where noted.

# Title Writer(s) Length
1. “You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire” Homme, Mario Lalli 3:12
2. “No One Knows” Homme, Mark Lanegan 4:38
3. “First It Giveth” 3:18
4. “A Song for the Dead” Homme, Lanegan 5:52
5. “The Sky Is Fallin'” 6:15
6. “Six Shooter” 1:19
7. “Hangin’ Tree” Homme, Alain Johannes 3:06
8. “Go With the Flow” 3:09
9. “Gonna Leave You” 2:50
10. “Do It Again” 4:04
11. “God Is in the Radio” 6:04
12. “Another Love Song” 3:16
13. “A Song for the Deaf”  Homme, Oliveri, Lanegan 6:42
14. “Mosquito Song”  5:37

~ by jmstone87 on December 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: